Names and Details of Electricity Distribution Companies in Nigeria

Electricity Bills Aug 12, 2020

In Nigeria, there are 11 electricity distribution companies. These companies are saddled with the responsibility of distributing electricity to certain areas. Nigerian distribution companies each cover one or more states. And every area/state is covered by at least, one electricity distribution company.

We compiled a list of the 11 electricity distribution companies, their details and areas they cover. Issues like acquiring a prepaid meter can be done by visiting a respective distribution company.

Abuja Electricity Distribution Plc (AEDC)

Address: No. 1, Ziquinchor Street, Off IBB Way, Wuse Zone 4, Abuja.

Franchise Area: FCT, Kogi, Nasarawa & most parts of Niger States


Benin Electricity Distribution Plc (BEDC)

Address: No 5, Akpakpava Street, Benin City, Edo State.

Franchise Area: Edo, Ekiti, Delta, Ondo


Eko Electricity Distribution Plc (EKEDC)

Address: 24/25 Marina Street, Lagos Island, Lagos State.

Franchise Area: Southern Lagos State (Ojo,Festac,  Ijora, Mushin (also covers Orile areas), Apapa, Lekki (also covers Ibeju areas), Lagos Island (also covers Ajele areas) & part of Ogun State (Agbara)


Enugu Electricity Distribution Plc (EEDC)

Address: 1 Okpara Avenue, Enugu, Enugu State.

Franchise Area: Abia, Anambra, Enugu, Ebonyi, Imo


Ibadan Electricity Distribution Plc (IBEDC)

Address: Capital Building, 115 Ring Road, Ibadan, Oyo State.

Franchise Area: Oyo, Ogun, Osun, Kwara and parts of Niger, Ekiti and Kogi states.


Ikeja Electricity Distribution Company (IKEDC)

Address: Secretariat Rd, Alausa-Ikeja, Lagos State.

Franchise Area: Parts of Lagos States (Abule Egba, Akowonjo, Ikeja, Ikorodu, Oshodi, Shomolu)


Jos Electricity Distribution Plc (JEDPLC)

Address: 9 Ahmadu Bello Way, Jos, Plateau State.

Franchise Area: Bauchi, Benue, Gombe Plateau


Kaduna Electricity Distribution Plc (KAEDCO)

Address: No 1-2 Ahmadu Bello Way, Kaduna, Kaduna State.

Franchise Area: Kaduna, Kebbi, Sokoto, Zamfara


Kano Electricity Distribution Plc (KEDCO)

Address: 1 Niger Street, P.M.B 3089, Kano State

Franchise Area: Kano, Katsina, Jigawa


Port Harcourt Electricity Distribution Plc (PHEDC)

Address: No 42, Obi Wali Road, Port Harcourt, Rivers State.

Franchise Area: Akwa Ibom, Bayelsa, Cross Rivers, Rivers


Yola Electricity Distribution Company Plc (YEDC)

Address: No 2 Atiku Abubakar Road, Jimeta-Yola, Adamawa State.

Franchise Area: Adamawa, Borno, Taraba & Yobe


PS: Buypower has partnered with some of these companies to enable customers purchase electricity units online at their convenience. This helps eliminate the enormous physical stress associated with queues for utility payments. Buy your electricity online here.



Hi. My name is Simbi. Follow me to get tips on how to improve your electricity, upscale your business and solve all utility challenges today.

Great! You've successfully subscribed.
Great! Next, complete checkout for full access.
Welcome back! You've successfully signed in.
Success! Your account is fully activated, you now have access to all content.